Easily get essays for sale online at the best prices for any subject


Laurie Simmons

Laurie Simmons

in Editions

Walking Petit Four, 1990-91
Lithograph, four colors
40 x 30 inches
Edition of 75
$2,000 + shipping

In 1990, as part of Laurie Simmons’ expanded series “Walking Objects,” she created Walking Petit Four as an edition in support of ICI. This truly remarkable image is embedded with ideas that cut through the artist’s entire body of work. Of particular interest are the willfully ambiguous interplay between objects, figures, and backgrounds that take on strange powers in Simmons’ photographs.

Laurie Simmons constructs and photographs voyeuristic scenes of dreamlike distortions. in 2006, she created the film, The Music of Regret,, a mini-musical in three acts, which premiered at the Museum of Modern Art and featured musicians, professional puppeteers, Alvin Ailey dancers, and actress Meryl Streep. This work one of the works featured in ICI’s touring exhibition, Performance Now, curated by Performa’s RoseLee Goldberg.

For more information, contact Francisco Correa Cordero, 212.254.8200, ext. 125 or francisco@curatorsintl.org.